Wills, Trusts & Estates Prof Blog

Editor: Gerry W. Beyer
Texas Tech Univ. School of Law

Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Trying Times: Conservation Easements and Federal Tax Law 2022

Virtual Program – Thursday, August 11, 2022

11:00am-3:00pm ET/10:00am-2:00pm CT/9:00am-1:00pm MT/8am-Noon PT

This four-hour program will address the latest case law and IRS guidance impacting conservation easements. Experts will offer practical advice to land trust staff and board members, government employees, attorneys, appraisers, and landowners. Attendees will have the opportunity to hear the IRS’s perspective and ask questions of a diverse group of panelists who collectively have almost 200 years of experience with conservation easements and tax incentives. Each of three panel presentations will be followed by time devoted solely to Q&A.

This program will be streamed live (available as audio and video, or just audio). If August 11th does not work for your schedule, a recording of the program will be made available for a period of time after the event to those who register by August 10th.

Panelists

·     Karin Gross, Special Counsel, IRS Office of Chief Counsel, Washington D.C.

·     Stephen J. Small, Esq., Law Office of Stephen J. Small, Esq., P.C., Massachusetts

·     Mark Weston, Consulting appraiser, former AQB Certified USPAP Instructor, and former Director, Colorado Division of Conservation

·     Wendy Fisher, Executive Director, Utah Open Lands

·     Jeanie McIntyre, President, Upper Valley Land Trust

·     Nancy A. McLaughlin, Robert W. Swenson Professor of Law, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law

Register online by Noon MT Aug. 10, 2022 >>

General Public:

$30 Early Bird (ends Aug. 1)

$45 after Aug. 1

Students complimentary

4.0 hours Utah CLE (pending). Utah online attendees will need to apply for self-study CLE credits. For CLE in other states, attendees should apply directly to the relevant state bar and we cannot guarantee that other state bar requirements will be satisfied.

Sponsored by the Cultural Vision Fund and Utah Open Lands in cooperation with the Wallace Stegner Center.

https://lawprofessors.typepad.com/trusts_estates_prof/2022/08/trying-times-conservation-easements-and-federal-tax-law-2022.html

Conferences & CLE | Permalink

Comments

Post a comment