TortsProf Blog

Editor: Christopher J. Robinette
Widener Commonwealth Law School

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

AALS Torts Section Chairs 1980-Present

It has been an honor to serve on the AALS Torts & Compensation Systems Section's Executive Committee since January 2012.  I rotated into the Chair position last Friday.  I enjoy history, and began to think about the history of the Section.  The Section was created around 1973; prior to that, AALS organized in "roundtables," which I take to have been less permanent entities.  The AALS has a list of all Section chairs since 1980, which I reproduce below.  The term is now one year, but it appears a two-year term was used during the mid-1990s.  If anyone has further information about the Section's history and would like to share it, please comment on the blog (comments are not immediate) or email me. 

Dominick Vetri University of Oregon School of Law 1/1/1980
Frederick Davis   1/1/1981
Thomas C. Cady West Virginia University College of Law 1/1/1982
Jean C. Love Santa Clara University School of Law 1/1/1983
Harvey S. Perlman University of Nebraska College of Law 1/1/1984
James A. Henderson, Jr. Cornell Law School 1/1/1986
Jean C. Love Santa Clara University School of Law 1/1/1987
David G. Owen University of South Carolina School of Law 1/1/1988
Walter Probert University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law 1/1/1989
Lucinda M. Finley University at Buffalo School of Law, The State University of New York 1/1/1990
Aaron D. Twerski Brooklyn Law School 1/1/1991
Oscar S. Gray University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law 1/1/1992
Diane C. Maleson Temple University, James E. Beasley School of Law 1/1/1993
Jennifer H. Arlen New York University School of Law 1/1/1995
Richard W. Wright Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology 1/1/1997
Mark F. Grady University of California, Los Angeles School of Law 1/1/1999
Catharine Wells Boston College Law School 1/1/2000
Stephen G. Gilles Quinnipiac University School of Law 1/1/2001
Keith Norman Hylton Boston University School of Law 1/1/2002
Anita Bernstein Brooklyn Law School 1/1/2003
Kenneth W. Simons University of California, Irvine School of Law 1/1/2004
Peter A. Bell Syracuse University College of Law 1/1/2005
Richard L. Cupp, Jr. Pepperdine University School of Law 1/1/2006
James R. Hackney, Jr. Northeastern University School of Law 1/1/2007
Ellen Michelle Bublick The University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law 1/1/2008
John C.P. Goldberg Harvard Law School 1/1/2009
Catherine M. Sharkey New York University School of Law 1/10/2010
Michael L. Rustad Suffolk University Law School 1/8/2011
John Valery White University of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law 1/8/2012
Jennifer Wriggins University of Maine School of Law 2/14/2013
Andrew R. Klein Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law 2/14/2014
Anthony J. Sebok Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law 2/14/2015
Leslie Kendrick University of Virginia School of Law 2/14/2016

TortsProfs | Permalink


Post a comment