Media Law Prof Blog

Editor: Christine A. Corcos
Louisiana State Univ.

Thursday, August 5, 2021

FCC Seeking Nominations For the 2021 FCC Chair's Awards For Advancement in Accessibility

From the FCC:



Recognizing Innovations in Technology Access During the COVID-19 Pandemic

By this Public Notice, the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”) announces the opening of the nomination period for the 10th FCC Chair’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (“FCC Chair’s AAA”). The nomination period opens on August 5, 2021 and continues through 11:59 p.m. EDT on September 17, 2021.

The previous awards have recognized groundbreaking innovations in technology and practices that improve access for people with disabilities. The global COVID-19 pandemic has made these awards more relevant and impactful than ever, as the world’s reliance on telecommunications and remote access has skyrocketed. Given this unprecedented historical context, this year, the FCC is soliciting nominations for innovative practices, technologies, and organizations that have creatively leveraged communications and broadband technology, to break down accessibility barriers and ensure that people with disabilities have been able to participate equally in our increasingly connected world.

The Commission is particularly interested in nominations that have addressed the needs of people with disabilities during the COVID-19 pandemic in education, work, and civic life. This includes innovative practices, technologies, policies and research that address longstanding or novel accessibility gaps in remote participation tools, telehealth, access to crucial emergency information, and maintaining important connections between individuals otherwise separated by the pandemic.

Each nomination should include:

· The nominated entity’s name and current contact information.
· The name and contact information of the person submitting the nomination or a notation that the submission is a self-nomination.
· An explanation of why the nomination qualifies for the FCC Chair’s Award.
· A description of the nomination’s impact on access for people with disabilities during the COVID-19 pandemic. Any documentation supporting this work (e.g. media reports, published materials) will help support the nomination.
· A list of any specific efforts, products, policies or materials resulting from the nominees work in this space.

Please send all nominations to: by 11:59 p.m. EDT, September 17, 2021. Selected nominations will be recognized at a ceremony to be held later in 2021. A subsequent announcement will be made providing further specifics about the awards ceremony, including exact time and location.

The FCC Chair’s AAA was first introduced in 2010 at the FCC’s celebration of the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Since the first award ceremony in 2011, the awards have played a key role in FCC efforts to recognize technical advances that have made communications tools more accessible to people with disabilities. For information about prior winners of the FCC’s AAA awards, visit

For questions or inquiries about the FCC Chair’s AAA ceremony, please contact Deandrea Wilson (202-418-0703), Chantal Virgile (202-418-0056) or call the ASL Consumer Support Line at 1-844-432-2275 via videophone. Inquiries may also be sent to

| Permalink