Media Law Prof Blog

Editor: Christine A. Corcos
Louisiana State Univ.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Call for Nominations, 2017 Harry W. Stonecipher Award for Distinguished Research on Media Law and Policy @AEJMC

From Professor Dean Smith, School of Communications, Highpoint University:


 The Stonecipher Award Selection Committee of AEJMC’s Law and Policy Division is seeking nominations for the 2017 Harry W. Stonecipher Award for Distinguished   Research on Media Law and Policy. The deadline is April 1.

The award honors the legacy of Harry W. Stonecipher, who died in 2004. Stonecipher was an acclaimed and influential First Amendment educator. He nurtured a number of distinguished media law scholars during his 15-year career at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, beginning in 1969.

The Stonecipher Award for Distinguished Research on Media Law and Policy is open to all journalism, First Amendment and communication scholars within and outside AEJMC. The award will be presented to the research that most broadly covers freedom of expression as a whole, not just journalism.  The award is not limited to research that centers on media-specific issues; it can include First Amendment speech and press issues more broadly. The successful nomination also might be global in scope, rather than U.S.-centric, given that media law and policy as a research topic is inextricably intertwined with the rest of the world in the 21st century. 

Preference will be given to research with a strong theoretical component that demonstrates the potential to have a lasting influence on freedom of expression scholarship. All methodologies — empirical, qualitative, historical, etc.  — are welcome. Nominations may be for monographs, peer-reviewed journal articles, law review articles or other scholarly publications. Self-nominations are welcome.

In order to be considered for the award, the research must have been published between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2017.  Nominations should be sent to Dean Smith at High Point University via email — — by April 1, 2018. The winner will be announced ahead of the AEJMC's national convention in August in Washington, D.C., and the award will be presented there.



More about the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication here.

| Permalink