Sunday, February 7, 2021

Legal Writing Professors and AALS Sections of the Year

The Association of American Law Schools has 104 sections. The Section of the Year award is granted to one or two of the 100+ AALS Sections each year in recognition of excellence in member support and other activities that promote AALS’s core values, including annual meeting programming, facilitating outstanding scholarship, providing teaching support and course materials, community/pro bono service, engagement with the bar and bench, mentoring programs, expanding membership and member engagement, creative use of technology, and more.

In January 2020, the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research and the AALS Section on Environmental Law were chosen to receive the AALS Section of the Year Award.

In January 2021, the award went to the AALS Section for Associate Deans of Academic Affairs and Research and to the AALS Section on Balance in Legal Education. 

We were reminded that both of those winning sections have officers and executive committee members heavily populated by legal writing professors.

Of the four members of the executive committee of the Associate Deans' Section, three are LRW professors.  Mary Algero is the chair, Michael Higdon is the chair-elect, and Mary-Beth Moylan is a member of the board.  The Balance in Legal Education executive committee is much larger, but it also has its share of LRW folks, including Rosie Lozada (chair-elect), and members Kathy Elliott Vinson and Rebecca Scharf. 

Congratulations and thank you to all of the legal writing professors serving on AALS Section Committees.


| Permalink


Post a comment