Sunday, July 26, 2020

Nominations for AALS-LWRR Section Award

Here's a reminder that the Awards Committee of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research is soliciting nominations for the 2021 Section Award. This prestigious award recognizes individuals who have made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing and research.


The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2021 Section Award is Friday, August 14, 2020. The committee encourages nominations that reflect the richness and diversity of the legal writing community, including nominations of women, people of color, and members of other traditionally underrepresented groups.


Although there is no specific nomination form, committee members will appreciate a thorough and thoughtful nomination letter explaining the ways in which the nominee has contributed to the field of legal writing and research. Also, a link to a publicly available professional biography or CV is helpful. Please send nominations to both committee co-chairs, Ken Swift,, and Dana Hill, Please note that, due to a change in the section bylaws, previous year nominations no longer carry over. Nominators are free to resubmit materials from a previous year’s nomination.


The 2021 AALS Section award will be presented at the Section Luncheon during the AALS Annual Meeting in San Francisco. The luncheon is a ticketed event.


The award was created at the AALS Section Business Meeting in 1995 and conferred for the first time in January 1996 at the AALS Annual Meeting. Past winners of the AALS Section Award include the following:


2020 – Grace Tonner (UC-Irvine)

2019 – Charles Calleros (Arizona State)

2018 – Darby Dickerson (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)

2017 – Linda Berger (UNLV)

2016 – Suzanne Rowe (Oregon)

2015 – Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)

2014 – Jan Levine (Duquesne)

2013 – Terrill Pollman (UNLV) and Jill Ramsfield (Hawaii) [two winners]

2012 – Susan Brody (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago) and Mary Barnard Ray (Wisconsin) [two winners]

2011 – Elizabeth Fajans (Brooklyn)

2010 – Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley)

2009 – Richard K. Neumann, Jr. (Hofstra)

2008 – Eric Easton (Baltimore)

2007 – Anne Enquist (Seattle)

2006 – Terri LeClercq (Texas)

2005 – Marilyn Walter (Brooklyn)

2003 – Laurel Currie Oates (Seattle)

2002 – Helene Shapo (Northwestern)

1997 – Ralph Brill (Chicago-Kent)

1996 – Mary Lawrence (Oregon)

The Awards Committee is co-chaired by Ken Swift (Houston) and Dana Hill (Northwestern) and the members are Heather Baxter (Nova), DeLeith Gossett (Texas Tech), Lucy Jewel (Tennessee), Dyane O’Leary (Suffolk), Pamela Saindon (UIC-J. Marshall), Susie Salmon (Arizona), Michelle Zakarin (Touro).


The Chair of the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research is Mary Adkins; the Chair-Elect is Rosa Kim; the Secretary is Lori Johnson; and the Past Chair is Wendy-Adele Humphrey. The other members of the Executive Committee, which will approve the recommendations of the Awards Committee, are Kate Brem, Candace M. Centeno, Shailini J. George, Sammy M. Mansour, and Kayonia L Whetstone.


Hat tip to Dana Hill.



| Permalink


Post a comment