Saturday, December 14, 2019

Nominations for the Scribes' Law-Review Award Requested by January 15

Each year, Scribes—The American Society of Legal Writers—sponsors a competition to recognize an outstanding note or comment written by a law student who is associated with a student-edited law review or journal. This award has the distinction of being the only national award for student authors that places no limitation on subject matter.

Scribes invites law schools to submit one outstanding student note or comment that has been, or will be, published between June 1, 2019, and May 31, 2020. The competition will be judged by the Scribes Law-Review Committee. The winning journal and the author of the winning note or comment will each receive a plaque.

Scribes was founded in 1953 with the goal of recognizing legal writers and improving legal writing. Its members consist of judges, lawyers, law professors, and students who served on law reviews or journals. Scribes also publishes its own journal, The Scribes Journal of Legal Writing, and offers two national awards in addition to the Law-Review Award.

To get an entry form or for any questions, contact Scribes Executive Director Philip Johnson at [email protected]. Please submit your nomination by January 15, 2020.

Mark E. Wojcik, President, Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers


December 14, 2019 | Permalink | Comments (0)

Friday, December 13, 2019

Global Legal Skills Conference Being Held This Week in Phoenix

The fourteenth Global Legal Skills Conference is being held this week at the Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor School of Law. The Global Legal Skills Conference is the leading international gathering for global skills education. Presenters at this year's conference include:

  • Rummana Alan (University of Illinois)
  • David W. Austin (California Western School of Law, visiting at Brooklyn Law School)
  • Marta Baffy (Georgetown University Law Center)
  • Elizabeth Baldwin (University of Washington)
  • Kevin Bennardo (UNC Chapel Hill)
  • Hilary Bell (Hamad bin Khalifa University, Qatar)
  • Kate Brem (University of Houston Law Center)
  • Teresa Kissane Brostoff (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Tatiana Calda Lottiger (Executive HUB, Sweden)
  • Susan Chesler (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Bruce Ching (Syracuse)
  • Dean Adam Chodorow (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Diana Coetzee (Georgia State University)
  • Lurene Contento (Chicago-Kent College of Law)
  • Rachel Croskery-Roberts (UC Irvine School of Law)
  • Evelyn Cruz (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Leslie P. Culver (California Western School of Law, visiting at UC Irvine School of Law)
  • Megan Davis (University of Houston Law Center)
  • Susan DeJarnatt (Temple)
  • Janet Dickson (Seattle University)
  • Beverly C. Dureus (SMU Dedman School of Law)
  • Kathryn Falk Campbell (Southwestern)
  • Fabio Fisicaro (University of Catania, Sicily, Italy)
  • Eun Hee Han (Georgetown University Law Center)
  • Priscilla Harris (Vanderbilt University Law School)
  • Alissa Hartig (Portland State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Department of Applied Linguistics)
  • Maryann Herman (Duquesne)
  • Kimberly Holst (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Marcy Karin (UDC)
  • Rosa Kim (Suffolk)
  • Leila Lawlor (Georgia State University)
  • Sylvia Lett (University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law)
  • Antonino Longo (University of Catania, Sicily, Italy)
  • Alan Mamood (LexisNexis)
  • John Mounier (California Elder Protection Attorneys)
  • Michael Murray (University of Kentucky)
  • Mark Nadeau (DLA Piper)
  • Nell Navarro (Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law)
  • Nadia Nedzel (Southern University Law Center)
  • Olugbenga Oke-Samuel (Kampala International University, Uganda)
  • Cathren Page (Barry)
  • Trevor Reed (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Trilby Robinson-Dorn (UC Irvine School of Law)
  • Karen Ross (New York University School of Law)
  • Victoria Saliani (Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law)
  • Susan Salmon (University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law)
  • Kirsten Schaetzel (Georgetown University Law Center)
  • Rebecca Scharf (UNLV)
  • Diana J. Simon (University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law)
  • Sheila Simon (Southern Illinois University School of Law)
  • Ann Sinsheimer (University of Pittsburg)
  • Clayton Carter Steele (Brooklyn Law School)
  • JoAnne Sweeny (Louisville)
  • Maria Termini (Brooklyn Law School)
  • John Thornton (Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law)
  • Grace Tonner (UC Irvine School of Law)
  • Maggie Vath (Georgia State University)
  • Jesse Weins (Arizona State University School of Criminology and Criminal Justice)
  • Mark E. Wojcik (UIC John Marshall Law School)
  • Bobette Wolski (Bond University, Australia)

Professors from other law schools around the world are also attending the conference. Click here for more information about the conference. The next Global Legal Skills Conference will be held in southern Italy at the University of Bari Department of Law from May 20-22, 2020.


December 13, 2019 | Permalink | Comments (0)