Monday, August 12, 2019

Submit Your Winning "Best Brief" for the 2020 Scribes Brief-Writing Award

Scribes LogoScribes--The American Society of Legal Writers--is now accepting submissions for the 2020 Brief-Writing Award. The deadline for submitting briefs is September 15, 2019.

In 1996, Scribes launched a Brief-Writing Award to recognize and celebrate excellent student-written briefs. Scribes believes that legal writing is of paramount importance to law students and their careers, and it hopes to encourage good legal writing by recognizing its finest examples.

The Scribes Brief-Writing Award for 2020 considers submissions of moot-court briefs that have won first place in a national or regional moot-court competition during the 2018-19 academic year (September 2018 to May 2019). The award committee then selects the best briefs from all of the winning briefs submitted.

In 2019, the winners were Caitlin Messinger and Keriann Smith of the Florida State University College of Law in Tallahassee. Their award was presented in April during a Scribes CLE and Award Ceremony at the Law Library of Congress in Washington D.C. (The 2019 award ceremony also included the presentation of the Lifetime-Achievement Award to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, so it was quite a day for those students!) The second-place winners for 2019 were Cesar Escalante and Jonathan Peña of the South Texas College of Law in Houston, Texas. Two schools tied for third place: Jacob Cunningham, Jessica Finley, and Sara Kuebel won from the Louisiana State University Paul M. Herbert Law Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and Gabriella Gallego and Alyxandra N. Vernon won from the University of California, Hastings College of the Law in San Francisco, California.

The authors of the 2020 Scribes Brief-Writing Award will be recognized at the Scribes National CLE and Award Program that will be held in Chicago on Friday, April 3, 2020 at the UIC John Marshall Law School. Normally the winning law school has paid the travel expenses of the winning authors to attend the ceremony.

To submit a brief that won a national or regional moot court competition during the 2018-19 academic year, email an electronic pdf of the winning brief to The subject line of the email should indicate that it is a Scribes brief nomination from "____" Law School (the student's law school, not the school that hosted the moot court competition). The body of the email should set forth the name of the competition, the names of the students who wrote the brief and their school, and the name of the faculty coach or advisor, if any. The pdf (or Word) copy of the winning brief cannot include any information that identifies the student authors or their school. Please check the cover page, signature pages, and headers and footers.

Please contact Scribes Executive Director Philip Johnson at if you have any questions about submitting a brief for the competition.

Mark E. Wojcik, President, Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers

| Permalink


Post a comment