Friday, May 10, 2019

Villanova Promotes One Professor to Full Professor and Another to Associate Dean

Jessica.WebbProfessor Jessica Webb has been promoted to Professor of Law at Villanova University School of Law. Professor Webb developed and teaches Appellate Advocacy, a course that now includes the Theodore Reimel Moot Court Competition.  She is also the Moot Court Board’s faculty advisor.  She received her B.A. from Penn State University and her J.D. from the Villanova University School of Law (cum laude).  Before teaching she was an associate in the litigation group at Blank Rome LLP.  Subsequently, she practiced employment law at Rubin Fortunato & Harbison P.C. and medical malpractice defense at Post & Post LLC, where she specialized in appellate advocacy.  Before joining Villanova Law as an Assistant Professor of Legal Writing in 2013, Professor Webb was a Visiting Assistant Professor of Legal Writing at Villanova and an Adjunct Professor of Legal Writing at Widener Law School.  She also developed and regularly teaches a graduate level course at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and several law and education courses for public school administrators and teachers at the Delaware County Intermediate Unit. 

Candace.CentenoProfessor Candace Centeno, who recently assumed the role of Director of the Duane Morris LLP Legal Writing Program at Villanova, has been appointed Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at Villanova. Professor (now Dean) Centeno teaches in the first year Legal Writing Program and an upper level medical malpractice course. She is a graduate of Muhlenberg College (summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa) and Boston College Law School (cum laude). Before joining the Legal Writing Faculty at Villanova Law School in 2006, Professor Centeno was a defense litigator for thirteen years at White & Williams in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where she represented physicians, hospitals, and other healthcare professionals in medical malpractice and premise liability actions; she also served as an Arbitrator for the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas. She served as Treasurer on the Legal Writing Institute Executive Board from 2014-2018, and she has helped coordinate and plan three national conferences (2010 program committee member and poster presentation chair, 2012 co-chair of program committee, and 2014 conference co-chair). 

Hat tips to Mary Ann Robinson, Heather Baum, Diane Edelman, Amy Emerson, Christine Mooney, and Mitch Nathanson.


| Permalink


Post a comment