Wednesday, February 6, 2019

UALR Honors Lyn Entrikin and Lindsey Gustafson

Two legal writing faculty members members are being recognized by the University of Arkansas Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law.


J. Lyn Entrikin received a Faculty Award for Excellence in Research or Creative Endeavors.


J Lyn EntrikinJ. Lyn Entrikin is the Charles Baum Distinguished Professor of Law at UALR. Her award recognizes individuals whose research or creative endeavors have been particularly successful and recognized locally, regionally, and nationally. The results of these efforts should have contributed to the expansion of knowledge and the quality of life, or encouraged additional research.

Beginning in 2003, Professor Entrikin taught legal research and writing, legal drafting, and legislation at her alma mater, Washburn University School of Law in Topeka, Kansas. She was the Director of Washburn’s Legal Writing Program from 2004-08 and was granted tenure in 2010. She recently completed two three-year terms on the Board of Directors of the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD), serving as President in 2011-12. She remains an active member of ALWD, currently serving as co-chair of the Association’s Task Force on the ABA accreditation standards and as a member of various other committees. She is a member of the Executive Board of the Section on Balance in Legal Education of the Association of American Law Schools.

Professor Entrikin’s scholarship interests focus on public policy and the interrelationships among the three branches of government. She has published articles on judicial rulemaking, administrative law, state and local tax, statutory interpretation, and privacy law. She is presently co-authoring a legal drafting textbook focusing on rule-based public and private law.


Lindsey P. Gustafson Received Her Third Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching.


Lindsey Gustafson UALRThe award received by Professor Gustafson recognizes superior classroom teachers – individuals whose command of their respective disciplines, teaching methodologies, communications skills, concern for student performance, and commitment to the learning process exemplify the teacher/mentor model. The award is designed to distinguish teachers who maintain high expectations of their students and who ensure academic rigor in their courses. This year marks (by our count) the third time that she's received this award.


Professor Gustafson is an Associate Professor of Law and has been a member of the faculty since 1998. Since joining the faculty, she has worked extensively on improving student scholarship and supporting faculty-edited, peer-reviewed journals. She was hired as the founding Executive Editor of The Journal of Appellate Practice and Process, and still serves on its editorial board. She is also a Managing Editor for The Journal of Legal Writing Institute and a Co-Editor of The Law Teacher, published by the Institute for Law Teaching and Learning. She has published articles on improving student scholarship and on the impact of technology on student writing, and has created three new classes to train students in writing and editing legal scholarship. She has also frequently presented at both regional and national legal writing conferences on effective teaching methods. Professor Gustafson has been nominated four times for the Bowen School of Law Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award, and has previously won the award twice, in 2004 and 2014. Prior to joining the law school, she clerked and then served as staff attorney for several Utah trial court judges. Professor Gustafson is a graduate of the J. Reuben Clark School of Law, Brigham Young University, where she was the Executive Editor of the Brigham Young University Law Review and elected to the Order of the Coif.



| Permalink


Post a comment