Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Tina Stark Wins 2019 Golden Pen Award

Tina L. StarkThe Board of Directors of the Legal Writing Institute announced that Tina L. Stark will be the recipient of the 2019 Golden Pen Award.

Professor Stark is well known in the legal writing community as a leader in teaching transactional skills and as the author of the groundbreaking textbook, Drafting Contracts: How and Why Lawyers Do What They Do (Aspen, 2d ed. 2013). In 2012, she received the Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education. Here is link to a video of that award presentation.

The Golden Pen Award honors those who make significant contributions to advance the cause of better legal writing. These contributions may take any form, such as promoting the use of clear language in public documents, improving the quality of legal writing instruction, advocating for better writing within the legal community, outstanding scholarship or journalism about legal writing or legal topics, or exceptional writing in law practice. The award is normally given to someone who is not an active member of LWI, but active members are considered in exceptional circumstances.

The LWI Awards Committee recommended Professor Stark for the 2019 Golden Pen Award in part because, as one nominator wrote, Tina is “a world-renowned educator—a pioneer in the field of teaching transactional law and skills. She is revered in teaching circles of legal writing and transactional drafting professors and well-respected by professors who teach transactional doctrine.” The LWI Board unanimously approved this recommendation.

The award will be presented at the Blackwell Award Reception on Friday, January 4, at the AALS Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. The reception will take place from 8:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. at Chart C, Riverside Building, in the Hilton New Orleans Riverside hotel.

Hat tip to LWI and AWLD.



| Permalink


Post a comment