Friday, October 12, 2018

Charles Calleros to Receive 2019 AALS Section Award

Charles CallerosCharles Calleros, Professor and Alan A. Matheson Fellow in Law at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University. Charles has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 Association of American Law Schools Section Award for the Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. This prestigious award recognizes individuals who have made significant lifetime contributions to the field of legal research and writing. It has sometimes been referred to as the lifetime achievement award in legal writing. The award was created in 1995 and conferred for the first time at the 1996 AALS Annual Meeting.

As the award announcement notes, Charles is one of the legends of legal writing. More than 35 years after he started teaching at ASU, he remains actively engaged in teaching, scholarship, and service (not to mention being the drummer in a rhythm and blues band). From the publication of his first-generation legal writing text, Legal Method and Writing, now in its Calleros Flamenco Dancing8th edition, to his use of the flamenco guitar to illustrate teaching principles, Charles brings a distinctively thoughtful and engaging perspective to explain and illuminate difficult topics of legal communication.

Many legal writing professors have experienced his "dance lessons" at conferences such as the Global Legal Skills Conference in Verona, Italy. We are happy to share here some rare Charles Calleros flamenco and drumming photos that have not been seen before on his blog or on the legal writing listserve. The black and white photo (right) is of Charles Calleros flamenco dancing with the Lydia Torea Spanish Dance Company. The other dance photo is of Charles dancing "sometime in the 1980s."

Calleros Flamenco 1980sHis colleagues at ASU and across the country praise his warmth, generous spirit, and kindness; he “unfailingly models cheerful, nonjudgmental inclusiveness.” Charles has been a constant champion of diversity in legal education, and he has long been engaged with a variety of organizations that assist and embrace law students of color.

His work has taken place within the academy (e.g., AALS, LSAC, CLEO) and within the practicing bar (e.g., Hispanic National Bar Association). Charles’s significant lifetime contributions to the field of legal writing have greatly enriched law teaching and legal education.


The 2019 AALS Section award will be presented to Charles Calleros at the AALS Annual Meeting in New Orleans during the luncheon for the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. That luncheon on Friday, January 4, 2019 from 12:15 to 1:30 p.m. is a ticketed event. Tickets should be purchased when registering for the AALS Annual Meeting. We do not know if the luncheon will include live drumming or flamenco dancing on the table tops, but we'll be ready with a camera in case it happens.

Calleros Repeat-OffendersThe award recipient is selected from nominations submitted to the section. The AALS Section Awards Committee is co-chaired by Linda Berger and Rebekah Hanley and the members are Mary Algero, Annie Chan, Raúl Fernández-Calienes, Darby Dickerson, Deleith Gossett, Dana Hill, Jan Levine, Kathryn Mercer, Terry Pollman, and Ursula Weigold.

Here is the full list of winners of the AALS Section Award:

  • 1996 - Mary Lawrence (Oregon)
  • 1997 - Ralph Brill (Chicago-Kent)
  • 2002 - Helene Shapo (Northwestern)
  • 2003 - Laurel Currie Oates (Seattle)
  • 2005 - Marilyn Walter (Brooklyn)
  • 2006 - Terri LeClerq (Texas)
  • 2007 - Anne Enquist (Seattle)
  • 2008 - Eric Easton (Baltimore)
  • 2009 - Richard K. Neumann, Jr. (Hofstra)
  • 2010 - Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley)
  • 2011 - Elizabeth Fajans (Brooklyn)
  • 2012 - Susan Brody (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago) and Mary Barnard Ray (Wisconsin) [two winners that year]
  • 2013 - Terrill Pollman (UNLV) and Jill Ramsfield (Hawaii) [two winners that year]
  • 2014 - Jan Levine (Duquesne)
  • 2015 - Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)
  • 2016 - Suzanne Rowe (Oregon)
  • 2017 – Linda Berger (UNLV)
  • 2018 - Darby Dickerson (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)
  • 2019 - Charles R. Calleros (Arizona State University)

Hat tip to Professor Suzanna Moran, Chair, AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, & Research 


| Permalink


Post a comment