Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Deadline Extended to Submit Winning Briefs to the Scribes Brief-Writing-Award Competition

Scribes LogoScribes, the American Society of Legal Writers, has extended the deadline to submit winning moot court briefs for the national Brief-Writing Award.

The new deadline is Wednesday, September 5, 2018.

Scribes began this competition in 1996 to help identify and celebrate excellent student-written briefs. The Scribes Brief-Writing-Award Competition solicits winning briefs from national moot-court competitions and selects the finest of those winning briefs — the best of the best. Last year, the winners were three law students from the Wake Forest University School of Law: Matthew Cloutier, Mia Falzarano, and Blake E. Stafford. Additional winners and winners from previous years are posted on the Scribes website.

This 2019 winning authors will be recognized at the 2019 Scribes Annual CLE. Plaques will be awarded to the authors and their school. Normally, the school pays the authors’ expenses to attend the awards ceremony. The competition covers the current school year — September 2017 to May 2018. If one of your moot-court teams wrote the best brief in a national moot-court competition, or wrote the best brief in any preliminary regional competition held before a national competition, please enter the brief into the Scribes 2019 Brief-Award Competition.

To submit an entry, please contact Philip Johnson, the Executive Director of Scribes, at


To su

| Permalink


Post a comment