Thursday, July 19, 2018

Nominations for the Blackwell Award

August 1, 2018 is the deadline for nominations for the Thomas F. Blackwell Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Legal Writing. The award is given annually by the Legal Writing Institute (LWI) and the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) and is usually presented at the annual meeting of the Association of American Law Schools. The LWI and ALWD jointly created this distinguished award to honor the life of Thomas Blackwell, a professor at Appalachian Law School who was murdered by a deranged student. The award commemorating Thomas Blackwell is presented annually to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing by demonstrating:

  • an ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence;
  • a willingness to help other legal writing educators improve their teaching skills or their legal writing programs;
  • and an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating legal writing educators and students.

The previous winners of the Blackwell award are:

2018  - Ian Gallagher, Syracuse University School of Law

2017 - Melissa H. Weresh, Drake University

2016 - Coleen Miller Barger, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law

2015  - Helene Shapo, Northwestern

2014 - Jan Levine, Duquesne University School of Law

2013 - Judy Stinson, Arizona State University

2012 - Suzanne Rowe, University of Oregon 

2011 - Carol McCrehan Parker, University of Tennessee

2010 - Steve Johansen, Lewis & Clark

2009 - Linda Edwards, Mercer Law (now at UNLV)

2008 - Diana Pratt, Wayne State

2007 - Louis Sirico, Villanova Law School

2006 - Mary Beth Beazley, Ohio State University (now at UNLV)

2005 - Ralph Brill, Chicago-Kent College of Law

2004 - Pam Lysaght, Detroit Mercy

2003 - Richard K. Neumann, Hofstra University

Nominations for the 2019 Award should be sent to Mel Weresh at Drake University. Please include "Blackwell Nomination" in the subject line.


| Permalink


Post a comment