Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Finalists Announced for the 2018 Scribes Law-Review Award

Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers--presents an annual award to the best law-review article written by a law student.

A total of 57 articles were nominated for the 2018 award. From that number, the screening committee selected the following finalists:

  • Caroline Donze, Breaking the Seal of Confession: Examining the Constitutionality of the Clergy-Penitent Privilege in Mandatory Reporting Law (Louisiana Law Review);
  • Adam K. Hersh, Daniel in the Lion's Den: A Standard Reconsideration of Religious Exemptions from Nondiscrimination Laws since Obergefell (Standford Law Review);
  • Estalyn Marquis, Nothing less than the Dignity of Man: Women Prisoners, Reproductive Health, and Unequal Access to Justice under the Eighth Amendment (California Law Review);
  • Fiona O'Carroll, Inherently Governmental: A Legal Argument for Ending Private Federal Prisons and Detention Centers (Emory Law Journal);
  • Steven B. Pet, Preserving Antitrust Class Actions: Rule 23(b)(3) Predominance and the Goals of Private Antitrust Enforcement (Virginia Law and Business Review); and
  • Ryan J. Silver, Fixing United States Elections: Increasing Voter Turnout and Ensuring Representative Democracy (Drexel Law Review).

The winning article was:

  • Julie Lynn Rooney, Going Postal: Analyzing the Abuse of Mail Covers under the Fourth Amendment (Vanderbilt Law Review).

The Scribes Law-Review Award was presented in Chicago on March 17, 2018 at the National Conference of Law Reviews. At that time, the other finalists were not identified. This is the first public list of the 2018 finalists. Congratulations to all.

The final selection committee included Associate Dean Glen-Peter Ahlers (Barry University School of Law), Professor Mary Bowman (Seattle University School of Law), Mr. Steven Feldman (Legal Advisor to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), and Professor Richard Leiter (University of Nebraska-Lincoln).

Mark E. Wojcik, President, Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers

| Permalink


Post a comment