Saturday, October 21, 2017

Is Your Law School an Institutional Member of Scribes?

Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers--has individual and institutional memberships. Any ABA-approved law school, federal or state appellate court, or law firm may become an institutional member. Institutional membership entitles each faculty member, judge, or attorney at the respective organizations to all the benefits of membership, including receiving the Scribes Journal, The Scrivener, and bi-weekly email tips on legal research, writing, and grammar. Additionally, law schools may induct students into the National Order of Scribes. It is an honorary organization to recognize graduating law students who excel in legal writing. Law schools who are members may annually nominate up to five students to be inducted into the National Order of Scribes. $650 per year or $350 per year for institutions with fewer than 10 members of its own.

The Scribes website lists 39 U.S. law schools as institutional members. The law schools that are institutional members are:

  • Barry University, Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law
  • California Western School of Law
  • Chapman University, Dale E. Fowler School of Law
  • Charlotte School of Law
  • Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Duke University School of Law
  • Florida Coastal School of Law
  • Golden Gate University School of Law, San Francisco
  • Hofstra University, Maurice A. Deane School of Law
  • Northwestern School of Law of Lewis & Clark College
  • Northern Kentucky University - Chase College of Law
  • Mercer University School of Law
  • Mississippi College School of Law
  • Oklahoma City University School of Law
  • Saint Louis University School of Law
  • Seattle University School of Law
  • South Texas College of Law
  • Southern Methodist University, Dedman School of Law
  • Southwestern Law School
  • Stetson University College of Law
  • Suffolk University Law School
  • Syracuse University College of Law
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas Tech University School of Law
  • The John Marshall Law School - Chicago
  • The University of Texas School of Law
  • Western Michigan University - Cooley Law School
  • University of Akron, C. Blake McDowell Law Center
  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law
  • University of Houston Law Center
  • University of La Verne College of Law
  • University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law
  • University of Missouri School of Law
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law
  • University of Oklahoma Law Center
  • Valparaiso University School of Law
  • Washburn University School of Law
  • Western New England University School of Law
  • William Mitchell College of Law (now the Mitchell Hamline School of Law)

Click here for more information on membership in Scribes.


| Permalink


Post a comment