Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Mary Beth Beazley Wins the 2017 Rombauer Award

The Board of Directors of the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) has announced that Mary Beth Beazley is the recipient of the 2017 Marjorie Rombauer Award.  This prestigious award has only been given twice since it was established.  First to Mary Lawrence in 2000 and then to Laurel Currie Oates in 2009.

The award recognizes a person who has contributed significantly to the field of legal writing:

  • by education about the importance of legal writing;
  • by published scholarship that advances the teaching of legal writing and the understanding of its underlying principles;
  • by contributions to national legal writing organizations;
  • by contributions to individual legal writing programs; and
  • by efforts to improve the status of legal writing faculty.

As Mary Beth’s nominees wrote: “Professor Beazley is a force in the legal writing field.  For 30 years, she has served the national legal writing field with a generous heart and seemingly endless energy.”  Mary Beth uses humor and creativity to teach us all.  On top of that, she is “a prolific, versatile writer, and her work seamlessly integrates the doctrine of legal writing intro a wide range of topics.  Her scholarship ranges from the substance at the core of our discipline as legal writing faculty, to metacognitive pieces, to the interdisciplinary, combining the social perspective on writing with election law in her article on ballot design.” She has long been a national force in the field of legal writing.

The ALWD Awards Committee Members were Suzanne Rowe, Mary Algero, Todd Bruno, and Terry Pollman. The 2017 Marjorie Rombauer Award will be presented to Mary Beth Beazley at the ALWD Conference in Minneapolis.

Hat tip to Wanda M. Temm (University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law).



| Permalink


Post a comment