Saturday, March 25, 2017

AALS Section Award

The Association of American Law Schools' Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research Section Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing, reasoning, and research. The award was formally created at the AALS Section Business Meeting in January 1995 and conferred for the first time in January 1996 at the AALS Annual Meeting. The award has sometimes been described as a Lifetime Achievement Award in Legal Writing Education.

Linda BergerAt the 2017 AALS Annual Meeting in San Francisco, the Section presented its Annual Award to Linda L. Berger, former President of the Legal Writing Institute and Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Research at UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law. Linda is also Linda Berger is the Family Foundation Professor of Law at UNLV. Her research, writing, and teaching converge on the study and practice of legal rhetoric, drawing on cognitive psychology as well as on composition, rhetoric, metaphor, analogy, and narrative theory. She is one of the co-editors of U.S. Feminist Judgments: Rewritten Opinions of the United States Supreme Court (Cambridge 2016), the first volume in an ongoing series.

The 2017 Awards Committee for the AALS Section of Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research was co-chaired by Professors Rosario Schrier (Florida International University) and Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School).

The 2018 Section Award will be presented at the Annual Meeting in San Diego. Nominations should be sent by October 1, 2017, to Professor Mark E. Wojcik, The John Marshall Law School, 315 S. Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604. Email: There is no particular nomination form required to nominate someone. A simple letter or email message naming the person and describing some of his or her contributions is enough. Nominations are carried over to subsequent years, so if you nominated someone for last year that person will be considered this year.

Past winners of the AALS Section Award are:

  • 1996 - Mary Lawrence (Oregon)
  • 1997 - Ralph Brill (Chicago-Kent)
  • 2002 - Helene Shapo (Northwestern)
  • 2003 - Laurel Currie Oates (Seattle)
  • 2005 - Marilyn Walter (Brooklyn)
  • 2006 - Terri LeClerq (Texas)
  • 2007 - Anne Enquist (Seattle)
  • 2008 - Eric Easton (Baltimore)
  • 2009 - Richard K. Neumann, Jr. (Hofstra)
  • 2010 - Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley)
  • 2011 - Elizabeth Fajans (Brooklyn)
  • 2012 - Susan Brody (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago) and Mary Barnard Ray (Wisconsin) [two winners that year]
  • 2013 - Terrill Pollman (UNLV) and Jill Ramsfield (Hawaii) [two winners that year]
  • 2014 - Jan Levine (Duquesne)
  • 2015 - Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)
  • 2016 - Suzanne Rowe (Oregon)
  • 2017 – Linda Berger (UNLV)


| Permalink


Post a comment