Monday, October 8, 2012

New Website Collects Information on Law Award Programs

A new website provides a fairly comprehensive listing of award programs for the legal profession.  The site is intended to encourage more lawyers and law firms to participate in the various award programs and to encourage even greater perfection in the practice of law. Through the new website, lawyers can match skills and accomplishments with the awards that might be available.

Burton Awards LogoThe "Featured Award of the Month" right now is The Burton Awards, a non-profit program founded by the Burton Foundation, rewarding excellence in the legal profession. The Burton Awards recognizes major achievements in law, ranging from literary awards to the greatest reform in law, from regulatory excellence to publishing awards, and from recognition for public service to public interest.  Regular readers of this Legal Writing Prof Blog know that the Burton Awards are given at the gala event held at the Library of Congress.  (The last award presentation even included a performance by Bernadette Peters!)

Other legal writing awards on the website include the Scribes Award (given by Scribes - The American Society of Legal Writers), the Thomas Blackwell Award (given jointly by the Association of Legal Writing Directors and the Legal Writing Institute), and the ClearMark Awards given by the Center for Plain Language.

The new website features several dozen programs in fourteen categories, including: civil rights, education, e-lawyering, environmental, family law, general, legal writing, legal aid, advocacy, marketing, media, pro bono, and women in law. The site is organized by profit or non-profit awards, features a program of the month, and offers advertising opportunities for programs, logo services, and in-depth descriptions.

Click here to visit the Law Award Programs website.

Hat tip to Michelle Rayzman


Web/Tech, Weblogs | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference New Website Collects Information on Law Award Programs:


Post a comment