Thursday, June 16, 2011

Burton Awards

Logo The 12th Annual Burton Awards for Legal Writing honor judges, lawyers, law professors, and others for their skill in legal writing and their public interest service.  The awards are organized and sponsored by William Burton, an amazing individual who was himself honored by the Legal Writing Institute Golden Pen Award. 

In this year's installment of the Burton Awards, Professor Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley) was honored (for a second time at the Burton Awards).  He was recognized for his work as the Plain English Drafting Consultant to the Commission on Redrafting the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Also honored (and previously reported here on this blog) was Marjorie Rombauer, the first tenure-track teacher to create and teach a course in Legal Writing and Analysis.  She authored one of the first books on legal writing (because there were none at the time).  Ralph Brill tells us that West Publishing at first declined to publish the book because there was no market for such a course.

U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Stephen Breyer received the award for the law book of the year, and U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Sonia Sottomayor encouraged law schools to teach legal writing throughout all three years.  Chief Justice John Roberts also attended the event, which was held at the Library of Congress.

Click here for more information about the Burton Awards.

Hat tips to Ralph Brill (and Bill Burton!)


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Burton Awards:


Post a comment