Saturday, January 22, 2011

nominations sought for Burton Awards

Logo The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement recognize excellence in legal writing. For the past seven years, the Burton Awards have included an award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.

The award is given annually to an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution to the education of lawyers in the field of legal analysis, research, and writing, whether through teaching, program design, program support, innovative thinking, or writing.

The contributions considered may be significant single achievements or the accumulated achievements of a career. The previous recipients have been Dean Kent Syverud of Vanderbilt, Dean Darby Dickerson of Stetson, Professor Ralph Brill of Chicago-Kent, Professor Laurel Oates of Seattle University, Professor Mary Beth Beazley of Ohio State, Professor Richard Neumann of Hofstra, and, last year, Professor Helene Shapo of Northwestern.

Nominations are now being accepted for the Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education Award. Nominations should describe the contributions of the nominee and should be forwarded to one of the selection committee members by e-mail: Anne Kringel,; Grace Tonner,; or Nancy Schultz,  

Nominations are due by February 12, 2011.  

hat tip: Anne Kringel 


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference nominations sought for Burton Awards:


Post a comment