Saturday, December 11, 2010

AALS Section award announced!

Fajans_elizabeth The AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning & Research Section Award has announced its 2011 Section Award recipient: Elizabeth Fajans.  Congratulations!

The award is given annually to an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing and research. Betsy Fajans has been a dedicated teacher, mentor, and author, and has been an inspiration to many in the field of legal writing. She has been a writing specialist for Brooklyn Law School since 1980.  She is a co-author of the seminal book Writing and Analysis in the Law, now in its 5th edition, and the more recent Writing for Law Practice, as well as the publication Scholarly Writing for Law Students: Seminar Papers, Law Review Notes, Law Review Competition Papers, co-authored by Fajans and Falk. 

Betsy also served as an editor of the Journal of Legal Writing from 2002 - 2008.  She was also a founding member of the Writing Specialists Network. 

The Section Award will be given at the Section lunch at the AALS Annual Meeting held in San Francisco on Thursday, January 6, 2011.   

The section Nomination Committee this year was Emily Zimmerman (Chair), David R. Cleveland, Sabrina DeFabritiis, Anne M. Enquist, Greg Johnson, Mark Osbeck, Helene Shapo, Karen J. Sneddon, and Kathi Stanchi.

hat tip:  Martha A. Pagliari, Chair, AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning & Research


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference AALS Section award announced!:


Post a comment