Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Green Bag announces legal writing awards for 2009 - Ginsburg, Roberts and Souter make the list.

File this story under "better late than never."  Somehow I missed the original announcement back in early January so thanks to our good friend Mitch Rubinstein of the Adjunct Law Prof Blog for tipping me off to this.

The Green Bag, a self-described "unconventional" law review, is devoted to excellent legal writing.  To that end, the publications gives several annual awards to those who have demonstrated exemplary legal writing over the past year.  According to the Blog of the Legal Times:

Among the winners are three Supreme Court justices: Chief Justice John Roberts Jr., Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and now-retired Justice David Souter.

Souter's award is perhaps the most notable due to the brevity of what he wrote: a two-sentence concurrence in a mostly overlooked ruling from April, United States v. Navajo Nation.The ruling was a defeat for the Navajos in a long-running dispute over royalties under a coal lease. It was a sequel to a 2003 ruling by the same name, which was also a loss for the tribe. Souter's simple and eloquent concurrence (joined by Justice John Paul Stevens,) went like this: "I am not through regretting that my position in [the first case] did not carry the day. But it did not, and I agree that the precedent of that case calls for the result reached here."

Roberts won for his forceful anti-drunk-driving tract in his dissent from denial of review in Virginia v. Harris, and Ginsburg won for her majority opinion in United States v. Hayes, a statutory interpretation case heavy with references to syntax and grammar. 

Other winners in the jurist category include the Honorable Alex Kozinski of the 9th Circuit and the Honorable Frank Easterbrook of the 7th Circuit.  Non-jurist winners include book authors: 

Amy Bach for her "Ordinary Justice," Annette Gordon-Reed for "The Hemingses of Monticello," and David Post for "In Search for Jefferson's Moose." 

In the news and editorial categories, Eugene Fidell, Dahlia Lithwick, Kermit Roosevelt, and Jeffrey Toobin were winners. The finalists were picked from among books and articles nominated by a board of advisers (disclosure: including the author of this blog post.) The winning entries will be published in full or in excerpts in the Green Bag's forthcoming legal almanac for 2010. Among other winners were Solicitor General Elena Kagan and law professors Lani Guinier, Pamela Karlan, Frederick Schauer, and G. Edward White.

You can read the rest here.

I am the scholarship dude.



| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Green Bag announces legal writing awards for 2009 - Ginsburg, Roberts and Souter make the list. :


Post a comment