Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Joe Kimble Wins AALS Legal Writing Section Award


Picture 175

The Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research has just announced the winner of its annual award.

Section Chair Rachel Croskery-Roberts announced today that the recipient of the 2010 AALS Section Award will be Professor Joseph Kimble, Chair of the Legal Research and Writing Faculty at Thomas M. Cooley Law School in Michigan.  This award is made periodically to an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing and research.

Joe is pictured here with U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, who is holding a copy of Joe's Book, Lifting the Fog of Legalese-- Essays on Plain Language published by Carolina Academic Press.

Professor Croskery-Roberts noted that Professor Kimble's achievements are too numerous to mention but include these highlights:

  • His work in redrafting the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
  • His work in redraftinig the Federal Rules of Evidence
  • His work with Scribes -- The American Society of Legal Writers
  • His work with Clarity, an international organization to promote plain legal language
  • His work with the Legal Writing Institute (especially its Outreach Committee)

Joe has been "a leader among leaders in the plain language movement." In the words of those individuals who nominated Joe, "Joe has lived, breathed, and dreamed plain language his entire professional lifetime, promoting good writing and research at every turn. He is truly a visionary - a champion."

Professor Kimble will receive the AALS Section Award (formally) at the beginning of the Legal Writing Section's extended program (!) at the AALS Annual Meeting in New Orleans on January 7, 2010 at 2:00 p.m. Professor Kimble will be invited to make brief remarks at the Friends of Legal Writing Luncheon just before the section program.

In receiving this award, Joe Kimble joins the following list of past winners: Richard Neumann, Anne Enquist, Ralph Brill, Mary Lawrence, Helene Shapo, Laurel Oates, Marjorie Rombauer, Marilyn Walter, and Terri LeClercq. 

Hat tips to Rachel Croskery-Roberts, AALS Section Chair, to the AALS Section Awards Committee Chair Kathy Stanchi, and to Awards Committee Members Mary Alegro, Helen Shapo, Emily Zimmerman, Eric Easton, Scott Fruehwald, Nancy Schultz, and Samantha Moppett


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Joe Kimble Wins AALS Legal Writing Section Award:


Post a comment