Thursday, February 23, 2017

Loyola New Orleans Appoints New Dean

Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Madeleine M. Landrieu has been named the new dean of Loyola University New Orleans College of Law

From the media release (excerpts):

Landrieu, a 1987 alumna of the law school and an honorary degree recipient, will begin serving as dean and Judge Adrian G. Duplantier Professor of Law of her alma mater in summer 2017.

Landrieu has been a member of the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, Thomas More Inn of Courts since 1988, and served on the executive committee from 2012 to 2016. Her work as president from 2013 to 2015 helped the Inn achieve the highest ranking in the country, said Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Marc Manganaro in a letter to the Loyola community. Judge Landrieu also served a dozen years on the law school’s Visiting Committee, from 2000 to 2012 and currently serves on the committee as emeritus. In 2005, Loyola University New Orleans honored her with an Honorary Doctorate in Public Service.

“It has been my honor to serve in the Louisiana judiciary for the past 16 years,” Landrieu said. “As I take this next step, I am reminded of a core value instilled in me by my parents and the Jesuits: ‘Go where you can best serve.’”

Landrieu served the Louisiana Judicial College as President in 2012 and has served as chair of its New Judges’ Orientation since 2008. She has also served on the operations committee of the LSBA Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program, as co-chair of the Department of Children and Family Services External Advisory Committee, as board chair of Covenant House New Orleans, and as a founding board member of the Louisiana Institute for Children in Families. Judge Landrieu has also held key roles on the Louisiana Law Institute Special Committee on Summary Judgment; the Louisiana District Judges Association Executive Committee; and the Pro Bono Project, New Orleans.

Her many achievements include receiving the President’s Award from the Louisiana State Bar Association in 2009; the Pro Bono Project’s Distinguished Jurist Award in 2006; the New Orleans Association of Women Attorneys’ Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award in 2013; the Gillis Long Poverty Law Center’s Public Service Award in 2002; the Louisiana State Bar Association’s Pro Bono Publico Award and Young Lawyers’ Section Pro Bono Award, both granted in 1998.

You can read more here.


| Permalink


Post a comment