Monday, January 25, 2010

Kettlewell Award Given To Jeanne Gray

The Association of Professional Responsibility Lawyers ("APRL") announces:

Beginning in April 2010, the Association of Professional Responsibility Lawyers, the nation's largest association of legal ethics practitioners, will present its first Charles W. Kettlewell Legal Ethics Advisor Award to a lawyer who has demonstrated excellence in and dedication to the field of legal ethics and professional responsibility, by representing, advising, educating or mentoring lawyers. APRL was founded in 1990 primarily by lawyers who represent and advise lawyers and the Kettlewell Award is intended to recognize superior lifetime achievement and contribution in the “law of lawyering” field.

The Kettlewell Award is named in honor and in memory of Charles W. (“Chuck”) Kettlewell, who was one of APRL's founders and who served as its first President. Kettlewell, who passed away in 2005 in the prime of an outstanding career, was an internationally known expert in professional responsibility and legal ethics. He was an assistant disciplinary counsel in Ohio for many years and also served as a member of the ABA Commission on Evaluation of Disciplinary Enforcement (the “McKay Commission”), President of the National Organization of Bar Counsel (NOBC), a charter member of the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility, and an adjunct professor of professional responsibility at the Moritz College of Law at Ohio State University for more than 25 years. In 1987, Kettlewell entered private practice and immediately became the most sought-after ethics advisor and disciplinary defense lawyer in Ohio and a national leader in the ethics field. He handled dozens of disciplinary proceedings, advised countless lawyers and law firms on a wide variety of professional responsibility issues, and served as a mentor and teacher to scores of lawyers. In 2003, Chuck Kettlewell received the ABA's Michael Franck Professional Responsibility Award, in recognition of his wide-ranging lifetime contributions to the field of legal ethics.

Chuck Kettlewell was nationally recognized for his practical, common-sense approach to professional responsibility and attorney regulation. He had an unfailing talent for applying ethics rules in a practical, objective, and farsighted manner. He was an advisor and consultant to thousands of lawyers, a formidable advocate for clients involved in disciplinary and bar applicant proceedings, and an outstanding colleague to professional responsibility lawyers around the world. Kettlewell exemplified the highest standards of professionalism and the Kettlewell Award will recognize other lawyers who have made similar achievements.

The first Kettlewell Award will be presented at APRL's special 20th Anniversary Meeting in New Orleans, April 15-17, 2010. APRL's Board of Directors established a Special Committee to review nominations for the Kettlewell Award and appointed Past APRL President Ellen A. Pansky as Chair of the Kettlewell Award Committee. The Committee completed its work and made a recommendation of its selection to the APRL Board, which approved the selection by acclamation.

The Kettlewell Award Committee and the APRL Board of Directors is thrilled to announce that the first recipient of the Kettlewell Award is Jeanne P. Gray, a founding member of APRL, Director of the American Bar Association Center for Professional Responsibility, a dear friend and colleague of Chuck Kettlewell, and a visionary leader in developing legal ethics policy through the publication of scholarly resources, professional consultation services, promotion of competence and professionalism, and providing lawyers assistance in solving ethical conundrums with a unerring view toward client protection.

(Mike Frisch)

Current Affairs, Ethics | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Kettlewell Award Given To Jeanne Gray:


Post a comment