Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Application Period Opens for Smart Growth Awards

From Roberta White at EPA:

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is pleased to announce
that the application period for the 10th annual National Award for Smart
Growth Achievement is now open . Through this award, EPA recognizes and
supports communities that have successfully used smart growth principles
to improve communities environmentally, socially, and economically. Open
to public- and private-sector entities, winners will be recognized at a
ceremony in Washington, DC, in December 2011.

To view the application and complete entry guidelines, please visit:

Overview of the Awards:
         · Entry deadline is April 6, 2011.

         · Applicants may be public- or private-sector entities, but all
             applications must include a public-sector partner. Applications
             for public-nonprofit activities are welcome but must be submitted
             by the public-sector participant.

          · Awards will be given for the following four categories:

                  Programs, Policies, and Regulations:  This category
                  recognizes regulatory and policy initiatives that
                  support the principles of smart growth. EPA is
                  particularly interested in actions that remove
                  barriers to or provide incentives for smart growth.
                  Smart Growth and Green Building:  This category
                  recognizes development that combines smart growth and
                  green building approaches as building design and
                  materials are integrated with land use and location
                  efficiency. Projects may be single or multiple

                  Civic Places:  This category recognizes projects in
                  the public realm that improve a community's sense of
                  place while adding environmental and economic
                  benefits. EPA is particularly interested in projects
                  that create well-designed and vibrant public spaces.
                  Rural Smart Growth:  This category recognizes
                  communities that preserve and encourage rural
                  economies and character. EPA is interested in thriving
                  rural areas that have used smart growth approaches to
                  encourage economic development and job creation,
                  improve transportation choices and housing options,
                  and support the economic viability of working lands.

          · An “Overall Excellence" winner will be chosen from the four
          categories by the review panels.

For additional information, please visit
or contact Ted Cochin  ([email protected]), 202-566-2181.

Jamie Baker Roskie

Smart Growth | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Application Period Opens for Smart Growth Awards: