Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Workplace Prof Moves 2008-2009

In step with Blog Emperor Caron, I present the 2008-2009 Workplace Prof faculty moves (as always, please let me know in the comments or by email whether I am missing anything):

Entry Level Hires

  • Jessica Fink (visiting California Western and San Diego) to California Western
  • Daniel O'Gorman (Central Florida) to Barry
  • Sandra Sperino (visiting Cincinnati) to Temple
  • Heather Murr (visiting San Diego) to Golden Gate
  • Jim Hawkins (clerkship) to Houston
  • Carrie Griffin Basas (visiting at Penn State/Dickinson) to Tulsa
  • Ben Sachs (Joseph Goldstein Fellowship at Yale) to Harvard

Promotions and Tenures

  • Deborah Archer (New York Law School) to Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Jeffrey Hirsch (Tennessee) to Associate Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Paul Secunda (Marquette) to Associate Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Amy Monahan (Missouri-Columbia) to Associate Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Melissa Hart (Colorado) to Associate Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Wendy Hensel (Georgia State) to Associate Professor of Law with Tenure
  • Jeremi Duru (Temple) to Associate Professor of Law without Tenure
  • Marcia McCormick (Cumberland/Samford) to Associate Professor of Law without Tenure


  • Michael Yelnosky (Roger Williams) (Fall 2008)
  • Joan Vogel (Vermont) (Spring 2009)
  • Mike Selmi (George Washington) (Fall 2008)

Administrative Appointments

  • Donald Lewis (from practice) to Dean at Hamline
  • Michael Green (Texas Wesleyan) to Associate Dean for Faculty Research & Development
  • Pauline Kim (Washington Univ.) to Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development

Lateral Moves

  • Aaron Lacy (Barry) to SMU
  • Zak Kramer (Arkansas-Little Rock) to Penn State/Dickinson
  • Michelle Alexandre (Memphis) to Mississippi
  • Paul Secunda (Mississippi) to Marquette
  • Rafael Gely (Cincinnati) to Missouri-Columbia
  • Catherine Fisk (Duke) to UC-Irvine
  • Marion Crain (North Carolina) to Washington Univ.
  • Glenn George (William & Mary) to North Carolina
  • Mike Zimmer (Seton Hall) to Loyola-Chicago
  • Alex Colvin (Penn State IR) to Cornell IR
  • William Araiza (Loyola LA) to Brooklyn
  • Anne Lawton (Roger Williams) to Michigan State
  • Elizabeth Pendo (St. Thomas (Miami)) to Saint Louis
  • Michael McCann (Miss. College) to Vermont


  • Amy Monahan (Missouri-Columbia) to Minnesota (2008-09)
  • Norman Stein (Alabama) to Vermont (Spring 2009)
  • Sam Bagenstos (Wash Univ.) to Michigan (Fall 2008), UCLA (Spring 2009)
  • Rachel Arnow-Richman (Denver) to Fordham (Spring 2009)
  • Noah Zatz (UCLA) to Princeton Law and Public Affairs Program (2008-09)
  • Terry Smith (Fordham) to DePaul (2008-09)
  • Gillian Lester (UC Berkeley) to Harvard (2008-09)
  • Cynthia Estlund (NYU) to Harvard (Fall 2008)
  • Tristin Green (Seton Hall) to UC-Berkeley (2008-09)
  • David Oppenheimer (Golden Gate) to UC-Berkeley (Fall 2008)
  • Grant Hayden (Hofstra) to Vanderbilt (Fall 2008)
  • Joanna Grossman (Hofstra) to Vanderbilt (Fall 2008)


  • Dennis Nolan (South Carolina)
  • Alvin Goldman (Kentucky)
  • Paul Weiler (Harvard)

In Memoriam

  • William Murphy (North Carolina)
  • Benjamin Aaron (UCLA)



Faculty Moves | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Workplace Prof Moves 2008-2009:


One more promotion--me. I'll be moving to Associate Professor without tenure next year.

Posted by: Marcia McCormick | Apr 2, 2008 8:15:01 AM

Post a comment