Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Scribes Brief-Writing Award

If your law school won a best-brief award in a regional or national moot court competition during the 2020-2021 academic year, you can submit that winning brief to be considered for the 2021 Scribes Brief-Writing Award.

Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers--established the Brief-Writing Award to recognize the Best of the Best. It selects the best brief from moot court competitions held in the previous academic year. Submissions in past years have frequently included briefs that won the best-brief award in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

Nominations for the 2021 Scribes Brief-Writing Award can be submitted until October 4, 2021. 

Instructions for submitting a brief for the Scribes competition:

1.      By October 4, 2021, email an electronic copy of the winning brief to         

2.     The subject line of the email should indicate that it’s a Scribes brief nomination from “___ Law School" (the students’ law school).

3.     The body of the e-mail must include the following information:

  • Name of the moot court competition
  • Place where the brief was named best brief (e.g., “finals,” “SW regional”)
  • Names of the students who wrote the brief
  • Students’ school
  • Name of students’ advisor or coach, if any

4.     The brief itself cannot include any information that identifies the student authors or their school. Please check the cover page, signature pages, and headers or footers.

5.     Submit the brief as a PDF file if possible, although they will accept Word format if necessary.

6.     The brief should be submitted as a single file.

The award committee will consider briefs from the 2020-2021 academic year, and the award winners will be announced early next year. If you have any questions, please contact Philip Johnson, Executive Director of Scribes, at


| Permalink


Post a comment