Sunday, December 23, 2012

A Snapshot of Same-Sex Marriage Around the World

Same-sex marriage is now legal in the following countries:  Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark,  Iceland, the Netherlands (and the Caribbean island of Saba), Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain and Sweden.

In Mexico, same-sex marriage is legal in the Federal District (Mexico City) and in the states of Oaxaca and Quintana Roo. Under a constitutional decision by the Mexican Supreme Court, other states in Mexico must recognize same-sex marriages performed in the Federal District, Oaxaca, and Quintana Roo.  

In Brazil, same-sex marriage is legal in the states of Alagoas, Bahia and São Paulo. Elsewhere in Brazil, same-sex couples can enter into a "stable union" then go before a judge and convert the union into a full marriage.

In the United States, same-sex marriage is legal in Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont, and Washington -- and in Washington, D.C.  California will also recognize same-sex marriages performed during a window when it was legal in that state.

Same-sex marriage also is legal within the Suquamish Indian tribe in Washington state and the Coquille Indian tribe in Oregon.

h/t to RW.  (mew)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference A Snapshot of Same-Sex Marriage Around the World :


Post a comment