Friday, May 20, 2011

Election Results for the UN Human Rights Council

United Nations Flag Six countries that have never previously served on the United Nations Human Rights Council are among 15 new members of the Geneva-based body after a round of balloting among UN Member States this morning.

Austria, Benin, Botswana, the Republic of Congo, Costa Rica and Kuwait will make their debut on the Council next month, starting three-year terms on the 47-member panel that allots seats according to a formula based on world regions.

The other newly elected members – although they have previously completed stints since the Council was created in 2006 – are Burkina Faso, Chile, Czech Republic, India, Indonesia, Italy, Peru, Philippines and Romania.

General Assembly President Joseph Deiss announced the results of the voting, which was conducted by secret ballot among Member States at UN Headquarters in New York.

Four countries were elected in the African category, four in the Asian States grouping and three from Latin America and the Caribbean, while two countries were chosen from Eastern Europe and two from the Western European and other States grouping.

In the Eastern European category, Georgia was unsuccessful, while in Latin America and the Caribbean, Nicaragua missed out on a seat.

(UN Press Release)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Election Results for the UN Human Rights Council:


Post a comment