Tuesday, March 29, 2011

UN Convention Against Corruption Now Has 150 State Parties

The United Nations Convention Against Corruption, UN Doc. A/58/422, was approved by the U.N. General Assembly on October 31, 2003.  The UNCAC covers five main areas: prevention, criminalization and law enforcement measures, international cooperation, asset recovery, and technical assistance and information exchange.

The UNCAC covers many different forms of corruption, such as trading in influence, abuse of power, and various acts of corruption in the private sector. A further significant development was a specific chapter dealing with the recovery of assets, a major concern for countries that pursue the assets of former leaders and other officials accused or found to have engaged in corruption

As of today, there are 150 state parties to the Convention.  The latest countries to become parties are Iceland and Thailand, which joined on March 1, 2011.  Click here for more information.



| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference UN Convention Against Corruption Now Has 150 State Parties:


Post a comment