Wednesday, January 27, 2010

WTO to Establish Chairs at 14 Developing Country Universities

Yesterday, the World Trade Organization announced that it has selected 14 universities in developing countries to receive financial resources to support teaching, research and outreach activities.  The WTO Chairs Program is intended to provide students with a deeper understanding of trade policy issues.  The program also is designed to faciliate fuller participation in the formulation and implementation of trade policy by the beneficiary countries.  The WCP hopes to train the future leaders of those countries to allow them to better understand and participate in global trade.  The universities were selected through a competitive proposal process and include Mexico, China, Chile, Jordan, Nairobi and Vietnam.  A complete list of the programs and chair holders can be found here.   Congratulations to those who were selected!


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference WTO to Establish Chairs at 14 Developing Country Universities:


Post a comment