Friday, May 29, 2009

Jessup Results, Photos, and News

ILSA We've just received this message from the International Law Students' Association . . .

Dear Friends of the Jessup,

The ILSA Executive Office extends its sincerest thanks to the FOJ community for its support of the Jessup’s 50th Anniversary Year. More than 104 teams competed in the Shearman & Sterling International Rounds, with eight Observation Teams and nine Exhibition Teams bringing the total number of participating teams to 121 – the largest ever in the Competition’s history.

We could not have managed this extraordinary turnout without the unending assistance of the FOJ community. Thank you to those who judged oral rounds in Washington and at national and regional tournaments around the world; to those who spent hours reading and grading memorials, and pouring over the Compromis and Bench Memorandum; to those who served as coaches, competition administrators, judge and bailiff coordinators, scoring calculators, and organizers of much-deserved social activities.  Your combined efforts made for a spectacular anniversary celebration.

Standout highlights of the Shearman & Sterling International Rounds include the long-awaited Reverse Moot, the Friends of the Jessup Trivia Night, and the 50th Anniversary Celebration Dinner, which featured former ICJ Presidents Stephen M. Schwebel and Dame Rosalyn Higgins as the evening’s distinguished guest speakers.

Pictures from the Jessup 50th Anniversary Celebration Dinner are now available by clicking here.

The complete results of the 2009 Shearman & Sterling International Rounds are now available by clicking here.  Congratulations to the 2009 Shearman & Sterling Jessup Cup World Champion Team, Universidad de los Andes (Colombia).

The Spring Issue of the Friends of the Jessup Newsletter is available by clicking here.

Finally, some terrific news for those of you who are still pondering over the fate of Piccardo Donati and the Dasu Refugees:  Jessup 2009 isn’t over yet! We are currently seeking judges to grade this year’s top memorials for the Hardy C. Dillard and Richard R. Baxter competitions. The best memorials of the national and regional rounds will compete for the Dillard award. The Dillard finalists and Alona E. Evans Award finalists (the best memorials of the International Rounds) will then be considered for the Baxter Award, which is given to the best Applicant Memorial and best Respondent Memorial of this elite group. If you would like to evaluate memorials for either of these competitions, please contact Ashley Walker at ILSA.

Thank you once again for your continuing support of the Jessup Competition, and making the Jessup’s 50th Anniversary a truly remarkable year.

With our warmest regards,

The ILSA Executive Office

Amity R. Boye, ILSA Executive Director
Jill Schmieder Hereau, ILSA Programs Coordinator
Caroline C. Cowen, Jessup Outreach Coordinator
Ashley E. Walker, Jessup Competition Coordinator

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Jessup Results, Photos, and News:


Post a comment