Friday, January 30, 2009

50 Years of Jessup - Special Dinner on March 27, 2009

Jessup_anniversary Hundreds of international legal practitioners, judges, scholars, and government leaders will celebrate the Jessup 50th Anniversary Celebration on Friday, March 27, 2009 at a special reception and dinner in Washington, D.C.  The International Law Students Association (ILSA) and the American Society of International Law (ASIL) will present this spectacular evening celebrating the Jessup Competition’s contributions to international law.

Featured guests include President Rosalyn Higgins and Judge Stephen M. Schwebel. Rosalyn Higgins is the President of the International Court of Justice. President Higgins was the first female judge to be appointed to the ICJ, and was elected its President in 2006. Judge Schwebel served as a Judge at the ICJ from 1981-2000, ICJ President from 1997-2000, and authored the inaugural Jessup Competition Problem in 1959. For more information, click here.   

Contributions from individuals, firms, schools and organizations are also invited to support the next fifty yeas of the Jessup Program, including providing critical support to many Jessup teams where legal education is still in its infancy, and to students who lack the financial resources to participate in the Competition. If you would like to make a donation or if you have any questions, please click here or visit the ILSA website.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 50 Years of Jessup - Special Dinner on March 27, 2009:


Post a comment