Friday, November 7, 2008

Two judges re-elected, three new judges elected to ICJ

The U.N. General Assembly and the Security Council elected five Members of the International Court of Justice for a term of office of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2009.


Judges Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan) and Ronny Abraham (France) were re-elected as Members of the Court.


Messrs. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil), Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), and Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) were elected as new Members of the Court.


In February 2009 the Court as newly constituted will proceed to elect from among its Members a President and a Vice-President, who will hold office for three years.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Two judges re-elected, three new judges elected to ICJ:


Post a comment