Friday, November 26, 2021

From The Bookshelves: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Cover

Santa can leave this novel under the tree for me this year: American Street by Ibi Zoboi. Gotta love the cross-promotional work of her publisher: "perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon." Careful readers (with long memories) know that I am.

Here's the premise:

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

-KitJ

https://lawprofessors.typepad.com/immigration/2021/11/from-the-bookshelves-american-street-by-ibi-zoboi.html

Books | Permalink

Comments

Post a comment