Monday, April 6, 2020

Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harrassment: Bystander Intervention Trainings

Join Asian Americans Advancing Justice and Hollaback for a bystander intervention to stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harrassment on April 8 and April 9. A letter describing the online workshop and registration process is below.

Join us: Free bystander intervention training to stop
anti-Asian/American and xenophobic harassment

 
 

Dear friends,

As you know, anti-Asian and Asian American and xenophobic harassment are on the rise across the U.S. Unfortunately, anti-Asian and Asian American racism and xenophobia is not a new phenomenon. It has been part of our histories for a long time, and we have seen it manifested against different communities in many ways over the years. As the coronavirus pandemic escalates, we have seen more harassment, discrimination, and even violence directed at our communities. The Asian Americans Advancing Justice affiliation has been documenting hate crimes and hate incidents since 2017 through our website at StandAgainstHatred.org, which is available in English, Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese. More resources are available on our new COVID-19 page.

One way we can take action to protect our communities is to learn ways to intervene effectively as a bystander without compromising safety. We're excited to announce that Hollaback! and Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC are partnering for a virtual workshop on bystander intervention.
 
The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!'s 5 D's of bystander intervention methodology.

  • We'll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now -- from microaggressions to violence -- using a tool we call the "spectrum of disrespect."
  • You'll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities.
  • We'll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening.
  • We'll have time at the end for practice, and you'll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian and Asian American harassment online or in-person.

We are offering this virtual workshop on April 8 and 9. Sign up for a time of your convenience:

Wednesday, April 8
7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT / 1pm HT

Sign up for the April 8 training

Thursday, April 9
2:30pm ET / 1:30pm CT / 12:30pm MT / 11:30am PT / 8:30am HT

Sign up for the April 9 training

These experiences of harassment build up over time for people, and harassment can chip away at a person and at a community. Together, we can contribute to sending the message that hate, including racism and xenophobia, is unacceptable in all of its forms. Want to learn more? See Hollaback!’s guide here which discusses the role bystanders can play, what privilege is, reasons why people don’t take action, and the 5 D’s of bystander intervention. We’ll go into this more during the training. 

We hope you can join us!

Stay safe,
Bessie Chan-Smitham
Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC

 
 
 
 
 

MHC

https://lawprofessors.typepad.com/immigration/2020/04/stop-anti-asianamerican-and-xenophobic-harrassment-bystander-intervention-trainings.html

Conferences and Call for Papers, Current Affairs | Permalink

Comments

Post a comment