Friday, March 13, 2020

Global Migration On Pause for Coronavirus

At midnight tonight, the United States will suspend the entry of all noncitizens "who were physically present within the Schengen Area during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States."

Other countries have also suspended entry:

  • India, as the BBC reports, is suspending visas (with some exceptions) for a month, and the nation is also suspending visa-free travel for overseas citizens.
  • Vietnam is suspending entry of citizens of Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Norway, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.
  • Saudi Arabia had already suspended tourist entry to Mecca and Medin by individuals traveling from countries with confirmed cases of coronavirus.

CNN lists still more countries with current virus-related travel bans:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Norway
  • Peru
  • Russia
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Turkey

This global pause on migration is entirely unprecedented. Still to be seen is whether it will slow the spread of coronavirus.


Current Affairs | Permalink


Post a comment