Saturday, January 11, 2020

The Trump Administration Has Been Preparing To Expand The Travel Ban, Documents Reveal


Hamed Aleaziz for BuzzFeed reports that the Trump administration is considering the expansion of the number of countries subject to the travel ban:

"The Trump administration has been preparing to expand its travel ban — which bars individuals from seven countries from entering the US — to restrict certain immigrants from several more nations around the world, according to internal government documents obtained by BuzzFeed News.

It is unclear whether the administration will issue the restrictions. But the draft documents suggest it has been actively preparing to do so by creating materials to engage with the media, alongside a draft presidential proclamation."

The countries currently subject to the ban are Iran, Syria, Libya, Venezuela, North Korea, Yemen, and Somalia.  The story reports that it could not be told from teh documenets produced which new nations would be added to the travel ban.  Read the article at the link above for details.


Current Affairs | Permalink


Post a comment