Monday, February 20, 2017

Countries affected by Trump travel suspension accounted for more than 900,000 U.S. entries since 2006


A Pew Research Center study shows that the seven nations affected by the January 27, 2017 executive order that prevents many of their citizens from entering the United States for 90 days accounted for 904,415 legal U.S. entries between fiscal years 2006 and 2015. This group includes visitors, students and diplomats as well as refugees and new lawful permanent residents

Entries from the affected countries made up 0.2% of the more than 517 million total entries to the U.S. over the same period. (Entries include individuals visiting the U.S. as well as new lawful immigrants and refugees. They do not include unauthorized entries or asylum seekers. One person may account for multiple entries.)

The order, signed by President Donald Trump on Jan. 27, specified that most citizens from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen could not enter the U.S. until security procedures used to evaluate visa applications have been reviewed. (Diplomats and those traveling with visas for government officials are exempt from the ban.) The president’s new order also temporarily halted the U.S. refugee resettlement program for 120 days and indefinitely banned most Syrian refugees.

Prior to the executive order, citizens of the seven restricted countries were able to legally enter the U.S. in several ways. Official data are available on three categories of legal entrants: temporary immigrants, refugees and new lawful permanent residents.

In response to a court injunction barring the implementation of the executive order, President Trump reportedly will issue a new one, with more narrow travel restrictions on noncitizens from the same seven nations.


Current Affairs | Permalink


Post a comment