Monday, April 15, 2024

Map Shows 12 States That Allow Child Marriage After Virginia Passes Law

From Newsweek:

There are officially a dozen states where child marriage has been banned. Virginia joined Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington on Monday night after Governor Glenn Youngkin signed House Bill 994 into law.

The legislation establishes the legal marrying age in Virginia to be 18 and "eliminates the ability for a minor to be declared emancipated on the basis of the intent to marry." The law closes a loophole that allowed 16- and 17-year-olds who have been emancipated from their families to wed. Advocates said that the loophole had allowed those minors to be legally trafficked under the guise of marriage.

Read more here.

| Permalink


Post a comment