Wednesday, January 25, 2023

7 Stages of Divorce

From Newsweek:

In 2020, after 12 years together—as well as two children, 10 pets, and five properties—my partner and I decided to call it quits. One of the first therapists I spoke to post-divorce said that the end of a marriage was a death of sorts, and I was going to go through the five stages of grief as a result: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Now that I have made my way through my divorce, it seems to me that grief might be too classy of a metaphor for the process. Grief elicits imagery of a gentle soul writing emotive poetry in the morning mist. Divorce, on the other hand, left me feeling like a contestant on Wipeout: completely battered, generally off balance, and surrounded by utter chaos.

With a little bit of distance from my chaos, I can see that my therapist had been right about there being stages of divorce, but she was a bit off with her warnings about what was coming my way. I can see seven stages in my rear-view mirror, not five, and I think it's worth warning other people about what their divorce obstacle course may look like.

Read more here.

| Permalink


Insightful article on the 7 stages of divorce. Your breakdown of the emotions and challenges individuals face during each stage is spot on. It's important for those going through a divorce to have a clear understanding of what to expect, and this article provides just that. Thank you for sharing!

Posted by: thomaschaytorsolicitors | Jan 31, 2023 2:22:28 AM

Post a comment