Friday, November 3, 2017
Pennsylvania's New Adoption Law
Under a law that goes into effect Friday, adoptees over age 18 can apply for their birth records for the first time in 33 years. The law allows them to get their birth records — just like non-adopted people.
Adoptees — people who were adopted as children — who are at least 18 years old and have finished high school may now apply to the state Department of Health for a copy of their birth certificate. Before this law was passed, adoptees could petition the courts for their birth certificate, but a judge could deny the request. Since 1984, adoption records in Pennsylvania have been sealed.
Why was the law proposed?
Read more here.