Sunday, February 8, 2009

Conference: Separation of Powers sponsored by Federalist Society

Yale Law School is hosting the 2009 Federalist Society National Student Symposium, “Separation of Powers,” on February 27th and 28th, 2009; registration information here.

Here's the program:

Is the Separation of Powers Principle Exportable? (Friday, February 27, 6:45 p.m.)      
     Moderator: Judge José A. Cabranes, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second   Circuit                
     Professor Steven G. Calabresi, Northwestern Law School                                        
     Professor Oona Hathaway, UC Berkeley School of Law

Confirmation Battles & Presidential Nominations (Sat., February 28, 9:00 a.m.)         
     Moderator: Judge Sonia Sotomayor, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second   Circuit                
     Ms. Nan Aron, Alliance for Justice                                                 
     Ms. Rachel Brand, WilmerHale, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General,   Office of Legal Policy
     Professor Stephen L. Carter, Yale Law School                                        
     Professor John O. McGinnis, Northwestern Law School

Medellin v. Texas (Debate) (Saturday,   February 28, 11:00 a.m.)                        
     Moderator: Judge Brett M. Kavanaugh, U.S. Court of Appeals for the   D.C. Circuit
     The Hon. R. (Ted) Edward Cruz, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP, former Solicitor General of Texas 
     Dean Harold Hongju Koh, Yale Law School

The   Administrative State & the Constitution (Saturday,   February 28, 2:00 p.m.)                
     Moderator: Professor Jonathan R. Macey, Yale Law School                                 
     Professor Cynthia R. Farina, Cornell Law School                                          
     Professor John Harrison, University of Virginia Law School                                 
     Professor Gary S. Lawson, Boston University Law School                                 
     Professor Thomas W. Merrill, Yale Law School

War Powers and the Executive (Saturday, February 28, 4:00   p.m.)                        
     Moderator: Judge Debra Ann Livingston, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit         
     Ambassador John Bolton (former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations)         
     Professor Martin S.Lederman, Georgetown University Law Center (tentative)                        
     Professor Michael Paulsen, University of St. Thomas Law School                        
     Professor Christopher Schroeder, Duke Law School


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Conference: Separation of Powers sponsored by Federalist Society:


Post a comment