Monday, September 10, 2018

Nominations: 2019 William Pincus Award for Outstanding Service and Commitment to Clinical Legal Education

Via Prof. JoNel Newman on the LawClinic listserv:

The Awards Committee for the AALS Section on Clinical Legal Education is soliciting nominations through Friday, October 5th for the 2019 William Pincus Award for Outstanding Service and Commitment to Clinical Legal Education. The Award, which the Section presents at the January AALS annual meeting, honors one or more individuals or institutions of clinical legal education for (1) service, (2) scholarship, (3) program design and implementation, or (4) other activity beneficial to clinical education or to the advancement of justice.
NOMINATIONS GUIDELINES: To ensure that the Awards Committee has uniformity in what it is considering in support of each candidate, the Committee requests that nominations adhere to the following guidelines:

1. To nominate someone, send the name of the nominee and all supporting materials (as outlined below) to JoNel Newman at by Friday, October 5, 2018.  Please note the limits on  supporting material outlined below.  All materials are required, unless otherwise noted. 
i. nominating statement setting forth why the Section should honor the individual, specifically referencing the award criteria listed above.  (no more than 5 pages in length);
ii. nominee’s resume;
iii. a list of scholarship, but not copies of the scholarship (do not include if scholarship is listed in nominee’s resume); 
iv. letters or emails in support of nominee (no more than 5 and no letter or e-mail should be more than four single-spaced pages long, exclusive of signatures, which may be multiple); and
v. other supporting materials (optional and no more than 5 pages total)
The nomination and supporting materials must be submitted via e-mail either in Word or pdf files.   Hard copies of supporting materials will not be accepted. Please note that a single pdf attachment for each nominee is greatly appreciated.
2. Members of the clinical community who have nominated a person or institution previously are encouraged to re-nominate that person or institution for this year's award. The selection of one nominee over other nominees should not be viewed as dispositive for future awards and a person or institution not selected one year might be selected the next. A list of prior awardees appears below.
3. The Committee's deliberations are assisted immensely by a variety of voices speaking about a particular nominee. Nominators are strongly encouraged to seek letters in support of the nominee from colleagues or community members who have been impacted by the nominee’s work. Such letters may also include letters of support from students whom the candidate has supervised in a clinical setting.

The nominating deadline is Friday, October 5, 2018.  Please send nomination packages via email to JoNel Newman at

Thank you!

The Awards Committee
Kinda Abdus-Saboor (Georgia State)
Jon Dubin (Rutgers)
JoNel Newman (Miami), Chair
Claire Raj (South Carolina)
Laura Rovner (Denver)

Prior Pincus Award Recipients:

1981 David Barnhizer (Cleveland State)

1982 Hon. Neil Smith (D. IA)

1983 William Greenhalgh (Georgetown)

1984 Robert McKay

1985 Dean Hill Rivkin (Tenn.)

1986 Tony Amsterdam (NYU)

1987 Gary Bellow (Harvard)

1988 William Pincus

1989 Gary Palm (Chicago)

1990 Bea Moulton (Hastings)

1991 Sue Bryant (CUNY)

1992 Elliott Milstein (American)

1993 Roy Stuckey (S. Carolina)

1994 Harriet Rabb (Columbia)

1995 Clinical Law Review

1996 Wally Mlyniec (Georgetown)

1997 Edgar Cahn (DC School of Law) and Jean Cahn (Antioch, posthumously)

1998 Steve Wizner (Yale)

1999 Katherine Shelton Broderick (U.D.C. School of Law)

2000 E. Clinton Bamberger (U. of Maryland, Emeritus)

2001 Peter A. Joy (Washington U. at St. Louis)

2002 Louise Trubek (Wisconsin) and Bernida Reagan (East Bay Community Law Center/Boalt Hall)

2003 Sandy Ogilvy (Catholic)

2004 Randy Hertz (NYU)

2005 J. Michael Norwood (New Mexico)

2006 David Binder (UCLA)

2007 Anthony V. Alfieri (Miami)

2008 John Elson (Northwestern)

2009 Margaret Martin Barry (Catholic)

2010 Robert Dinerstein (American)

2011 Christine Zuni Cruz (New Mexico)

2012 Robert Kuehn (Washington U. at St. Louis)

2013 Philip Schrag (Georgetown)

2014 Jeanne Charn (Harvard)

2015 Ann Shalleck (American)

2016 Bryan Adamson (Seattle)

2017 Thomas Geraghty (Northwestern) and Frank Askin (Rutgers)

2018 Carol Izumi (UC Hastings)

| Permalink


Post a comment