Clinical Law Prof Blog

Editor: Jeffrey R. Baker
Pepperdine University
School of Law

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

CLEA's Teaching Justice Webinar Series

Via Profs. Laila Hlass and Allison Korn:

 

As part of CLEA’s Best Practices Committee, [we] are thrilled to help launch a “Teaching Justice Webinar Series,” slated to begin this fall. 

 

Registration is now open for the hour-long webinar "Shifting Power through Transformative Lawyering in Community Economic Development" on September 26th, 2018 at 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30pm CT/ 1:30pm MT/12:30pm PT, presented by Renee Hatcher Assistant Professor of Law and Director of the Business Enterprise Law Clinic at The John Marshall Law School along with Alicia Alvarez (Michigan Law), Dorcas Gilmore (U of Maryland Law), and Susan Bennett (American University – WCL). 

 

Registration is limited, and you must sign up beforehand, using this link: https://tulane.zoom.us/meeting/register/b6b0d3463f28a82c34538d7d4481ef37

 

We are very excited about this series, which aims to highlight new experiential approaches to teaching justice in the classroom. Each session will draw on the wisdom of the current resistance movement and examine its intersections with criminal justice, immigration policy, racial justice, and economic justice, among other issues.  This series will explore the theory behind experiential faculty’s decision-making processes during a politically fraught era, asking the question, “How do we show up as lawyers and teachers?” Presenters also hope to develop a shared vocabulary and a deeper understanding of what it means to be a lawyer, whether we consider ourselves movement lawyers, rebellious lawyers, or transformative lawyers. 

 

Later this semester, we’ll hear from Annie Lai, Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Immigrant Rights Clinic. Annie will present on Teaching Justice in the Context of Immigrants’ Rights on December 6th, 2018 at 3:00 p.m. ET

 

The series will continue into 2019 with presentations from Deborah Archer, Associate Professor of Clinical Law and Director of the Civil Rights Clinic at NYU School of Law, and Eve Hanan, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Juvenile Justice Clinic at UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law.  More details to follow, posted on the CLEA Website. Please share far and wide! 

https://lawprofessors.typepad.com/clinic_prof/2018/09/cleas-teaching-justice-webinar-series-.html

| Permalink

Comments

Post a comment