Wednesday, September 2, 2015

CLEA Board Elections

Via the Clinical Legal Education Association:


Dear Friends,

The CLEA Elections Committee- D’Lorah Hughes (Wayne State University School of Law), Benjie Louis (Hofstra Law School), Erma Bonadero (University of Houston Law Center), and Anju Gupta (Rutgers School of Law)- is soliciting nominations through October 1, 2015 of individuals to serve on the CLEA Board starting in January 2016. In addition, we are also seeking nominations for the Vice-President and Secretary positions on the Executive Committee.

All positions require a three-year commitment. We are attaching a memo ( Download Responsibilities of Members of the Board of Directors ofCLEA)  prepared by the CLEA Elections Committee, which sets forth the activities and responsibilities of CLEA Board members in more detail.

Current CLEA members are invited to nominate themselves or other CLEA members as candidates for one of these positions. The committee also encourages "new clinicians" (defined as clinicians with fewer than 6 years of experience) to run for the CLEA Board. Our Bylaws create a separate election process for candidates identified as "new clinicians," to ensure that the identified "new clinician" candidate who receives the greatest number of votes will be assured a place on the Board.

The Committee strongly encourages CLEA members to nominate individuals from groups that are currently underrepresented within the leadership of various clinical institutions, including CLEA, the AALS Section on Clinical Legal Education, and the Clinical Law Review.

The nomination process is simple. Nominate yourself or someone else by contacting the Co-Chairs of the CLEA Elections Committee. If you are nominating yourself, please include a paragraph or two about why you are running and a link to your faculty profile, which will be included with the elections materials to be sent later in the fall. If you are nominating another CLEA member, there is no need to include such a paragraph; the name alone will suffice and the Election Committee will contact the nominee for further information. If you have less than six years of clinical teaching experience and wish to be identified as a "new clinician" candidate, or if you want to nominate a candidate for the "new clinician" category, please indicate that as well.

Although the process of nomination is easy, our Bylaws set a strict deadline for receiving nominations. All nominations must be received by October 1, 2015.

If you have questions about the CLEA Elections process, please feel free to contact the Co-Chairs of the Elections Committee, and

Thank you,

Benjie & D’Lorah

C. Benjie Louis, Esq. l Visiting Associate Clinical Professor of Law
Attorney-in-Charge, Disaster Recovery Clinic l Hofstra Law Clinic
Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University|
108 Hofstra University, 128 Joan Axinn Hall, Hempstead, N.Y. 11549
516-463-5934 l

| Permalink


Post a comment