Wednesday, May 12, 2021

National Business Law Scholars 2021 - Going Virtual, Again

The planning committee for the National Business Law Scholars Conference has again determined to host a virtual workshop this year (June 17-18). As is the custom, the workshop will consist of several keynote events and many, many moderated paper panels featuring the work of business law scholars who submitted proposals. We are working on finalizing the program now.  Each registrant for the 2021 conference who submitted an accepted proposal will receive a message with additional details. 

As you may recall, the conference this year was scheduled to be held at The University of Tennessee College of Law. We still do hope to hold a future National Business Law Scholars Conference at UT Law in Knoxville--perhaps next June. Stay tuned for more on that at a later time.  However, for those who have a yen to travel out my way this June during the conference (maybe your heart was set on it--or at least on getting out of the house), I am happy to host you in person.  While our campus has various restrictions that would need to be addressed for you to access our buildings, the surrounding area (Knoxville and East Tennessee generally, including the Great Smoky Mountains National Park) is rapidly returning to normalcy in most aspects.  Please let me know if you would like to visit our area and patch into the conference from Knoxville.

It looks like we may have a record number of attendees this year.  All of us on the planning committee (listed below) are grateful to all who registered.  We truly look forward to getting everyone together in person next year.  For many of us, this conference has a unique capacity to produce discussions that push our work forward.  While we understand (now, more than ever) that a virtual meeting is not a perfect substitute for an in-person event, we hope to make the conference engaging and useful to all.

Afra Afsharipour (University of California, Davis, School of Law)
Tony Casey (The University of Chicago Law School)
Eric C. Chaffee (The University of Toledo College of Law)
Steven Davidoff Solomon (University of California, Berkeley School of Law)
Joan MacLeod Heminway (The University of Tennessee College of Law)
Kristin N. Johnson (Tulane University Law School)
Elizabeth Pollman (University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School)
Jeff Schwartz (University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law)
Megan Wischmeier Shaner (University of Oklahoma College of Law)

Conferences, Joan Heminway, Research/Scholarhip | Permalink


Post a comment