Monday, March 23, 2020

2020 National Business Law Scholars Conference - CFP Deadline Extended

This follows on my post from last week regarding the 2020 National Business Law Scholars Conference, scheduled for June 18-19, 2020 at The University of Tennessee College of Law.  The planning committee conferred a few days ago and, in recognition of the current state of affairs, determined to extend the deadline for paper submissions to Friday, April 24.  We hope that this takes some pressure off faculty who would like to submit a paper for inclusion in the conference but are wrestling with new challenges and stressors in transitioning to teaching online.

Again, please contact me at or any other member of the planing committee listed below with questions.  Eric Chaffee handles paper submissions and scheduling.  Accordingly, he is the best person to contact if you need to address specific submission issues or scheduling constraints.  His email address is

Afra Afsharipour (University of California, Davis, School of Law)
Tony Casey (The University of Chicago Law School)
Eric C. Chaffee (The University of Toledo College of Law)
Steven Davidoff Solomon (University of California, Berkeley School of Law)
Joan MacLeod Heminway (The University of Tennessee College of Law)
Kristin N. Johnson (Tulane University Law School)
Elizabeth Pollman (University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School)
Jeff Schwartz (University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law)
Megan Wischmeier Shaner (University of Oklahoma College of Law)

Call for Papers, Conferences, Joan Heminway | Permalink


Have you thought about a virtual attendance option for this year?

Posted by: Matthew Bruckner | Mar 23, 2020 10:08:59 AM

Thanks for this suggestion, Matthew. All options are being considered. We will see where things are next month and take it from there. Please keep ideas flowing in this dynamic and difficult environment. We are very open to considering everything.

Posted by: joanheminway | Mar 23, 2020 1:38:42 PM